All parents should be required to volunteer time to their children’s schools.

No one can gainsay that effective education system will help the quality of teaching and generation of competent future-generation. In this respect, some people are in the position that parents' volunteering will not be adventurous for structuring a good quality of class, due to several relevant issues. However, not everyone agrees on such position. There are certainly cases that parents that volunteer for the class for their kids will benefit children as well as teachers.

First and foremost, some people argue that volunteering of partents would only result in distraction and lack of independence in children. This is mainly due to the fact that kids will try to talk with and come near to their children during the class, and this is much more severe when they are entangled with problems. Parents would try to help to solve the challenges assigned during the class, which will make more children diverted from the lecture and tasks given to them. In addition, this can also discourage students to develop a sense of independence. Their parents will always be their robust helper to clean the mess that they make or teach how to solve complicated math questions; therefore, kids would not be able to improve their own skills and independence. Likewise, the existence of parents would only lead to a distraction of their kid’s lecture as well as lack of independence.

However, what was alluded to above should not be overgeneralized to all contexts. Alongside those negative sides, there are surely positive impacts from parents’ volunteering. First of all, parents can be a good role model. Children can see how a grown adult behaves; their politeness, carefulness, appropriate uses of good word and other socially proper behaviors etc. This can cause children to mimic their good deeds and develop kindness, courtesy, and other social behavior. Furthermore, the existence of parents can be beneficial for the safety of children. They will be always watchful of potential accidents, injuries during the class or outdoor activities in a playground. As seen from those examples, parents can be important assets for school regarding their impacts as a good role model and students’ security.

Moreover, parents can help teachers’ work and reduce the teachers’ burden to care for all students. For instance, teachers may not be able to control and help all students during arts class, but parents beside teachers would promptly give scissors or glues to each student that need them. Also, when teacher needs to guide them in a field class, and parents can also follow them, and help the students outside of teachers’ care to keep up with the field trip. Therefore, parents are also great company to teachers in order to decrease the pressure on the teachers to care for students.

To sum up, there is no denying the fact that parent’s volunteering can cause distraction to children but also reduce the independency in children. However, there are also various advantages of parent’s presence in a class, such as being a good role model for good behavior and watchman for student’s safety as well as teacher’s helper. Therefore, we should encourage more parents to volunteer in the school for their kids and influence school education positively.