It is primarily through our social identification with social group that we define ourselves.

No one gainsays that human beings are conscious of their minds and endeavor to establish their self-identity. Indisputably, some individuals contend that we often base our self-identification on our innate personality and behavior or how much we accomplish in our life. Nevertheless, not everyone agrees with such idea. In some cases, people end to evaluate themselves in the context of group and interactions with others.

First and foremost, there are some cases that people rely on individual characteristics to find their self-identity. To be specific, people often define themselves according to their inherent attributes such as personality or long-standing behavior. Deving into this issue further, one who are lazy and easily feel lethargic may be able to consider him or herself as an typical case of indolent person, while an diligent one think themselves as an efficient workers. The same thing can be applied to the ones who are generous, sarcastic, or stingy etc. Similarly, people also classify themselves by the accomplishments and acheivements that they have made in their lives. To put it differently, people who have a good job think themselves an successful case, whereas those who do not may devalue their value. Based on these examples, people value themselves differently according to what they are and what they achieve.

However, what alluded to above cannot be overgeneralized to all contexts. Alongside with those spects, there are certainly parts that other agent plays a great role in establishing one’s identity. Group is a highly consequential factor to form someone’s identity. That is because humans interact with one another in a group and come to realise who they are and what they have to do. For example, if a girl often hears that she is pretty, she comes to understand what criteria for beauty exists in a social context and whether she belong to the group of people what have a good appearance, which otherwise she would not have realized herself. In addition, people also follow social norms like customs, culture, and tradition of a group that they belong to. To elucidate this issue further, in a Asian country, bowing is a common practice that people greet each other, and respecting the elders are social code, while more egalitarian lifestyle is so in a western culture. Likewise, Asian people will be more likely to develop the behavior to follow the Asian cultural rule, as they learn to conform to the culture. Therefore, it can be concluded that people learn about themselves and lifestyles as well from the group that they are in.

Moreover, group can form the sense of belonging in people. For example, we generally belong to a nation, and it can give us sense of beloining. With this, in the historical context, we define enemies and go for a war. When we win, we feel happy and relic the victory with others in the same group. The sense of belonging, therefore, renders us the chance to understand where we should be for and what we should do to feel happy with our community.

To sum up, based on discussion above, there is no denying the fact that people can build up their self-identity from their innate attrbutes such as personality, behavior, or the life acheivements that they have completed. However, there are obviously other contributing factors such as group to establishe someone’s identity, because it suggests the criteria of how they are evaluated in a society, but also people tend to acclimatize themselves to the social norms and common practices, which can contribute to their behavior and their sense of belonging.