Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

No one can gainsay that students should make their best efforts when they are taught in a university to help them to get a good occupation or achieve their dream down the road. Indisputably, some individuals are in the opinion that students have to focus on one specific major in consideration with the limited timeline of university courses. However, not everyone agrees on such position. There are certainly cases that taking different courses from their major can help students to understand the majer deeply and to be open to various job positions but also to cultivate them as a prepared electorate.

First and foremost, there are certainly persuasive reasons that students should concentrate on one major study. This is mainly due to the fact that they are given limited time to cover a variety of course works. If they study an advanced math and also have to deal with art history that requires considerable amount of time to grasp as well, they may not fully comprehend neither math nor art history and could have low grades in both. Similarly, learning many subjects can be too burdensome for a student to bear. Their major can be highly convoluted to apprehend and may require to spend a great deal of time and focus. Taking various subjects are to lay another heavy burden on students’ shoulders, which might deteriorate their emotional, phychological, and physical health. Therefore, people believe that students ought to devote themselves to mastering one specific subject considering the limited timeframe and their stress of students.

However, what was alluded to above should not be overgeneralized to all context. Alongside those disadvantages, there are certainly benefits of taking multiple courses in a university. Firstly, students can expand their understanding in diverse areas of study, which in turn facilitates their academic acheivements in their major. For instance, computational science encompasses all of math, physics, and engineering, so that a student who have an inclusive comprehension on all the subjects may have the upper hand to do well in computational science. Secondly, a student may be able to broaden their choice of job in the future, after they take multiple course. As a vivid example, a student who finds another interest in camera shooting in their elective courses but majors in math is able to change his or her future career. As seen in above examples, taking various courses can make students do well in their academic performance but also provide chance to students to open the spectrum of job choices.

In addition, if a student get other courses other than their major, they will be more prepared electorate when they engage in many different policy making. For instance, we have to make a choice in social science, ethnic conflicts, science or engineering as we dwell on a society. If we are equipped with the knowledge and understanding of each area, this can help us to vote for the best solutions to a problem. Hence, the policy that student should take various elective courses can benefit educating people to provie the best solutions in policy-making.

To sum up, there is no denying the fact that students’ focusing on one major course helps students to spend more time in their major and expand their knowledge and reduce their burdent on studying. However, there are certainly advatanges of taking multiple courses, such as comprehensive understanding, opening student’s choice for a job, and cultivating students to be ready for policy-making. Therefore, we should aim to develop more diverse courses that students can relish different aspects of studies in which they do not major and develop their knwoldege and usefulness as a citizen.