In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

The author suggests that improvement of the riversider water quality will aid in inviting more visitors for water sports on the lake, such as swimming, boating, fishing etc., and the City Council ought to subscribe aggressively to the project of the water quality enhancement. This argument may sound reasonable and well-grounded, but it is replete with holes and incorrect assumptions underlied. Therefore, it does not have strong enough to lead to increased funding.

Citing report presents that increased aesthetic views and quality in the lake will cause more residents in Mason City to take part in water recreational activities there. However, it may not have something to do with water quality that people prefer to enjoy water sports; instead, they may not bother water condition for the sports as greatly as they do with traffic condition, parking lots to enter the lake. If the council expends budget to ameliorate the lake's quality but not provides any positive returns in the number of visitors, this would be a waste of funds that otherwise could have wisely allocated and brought off positive consequences. Therefore, the council should be more circumspect to denote the most consequential part to develop, maximising the benefit of the funding.

Another assumption that the author makes is that cleaning the lake would engender more customers for water sprots facilities. However, recovering the water quality is a time-spending process which may span more than a couple of years. While the lake is being restored, none of customers would be able to relic the water games and recreations. Furthermore, better quality of water may render visitors hesitant to use the facilities, as they can be more cautious of environmental protection. It is for sure that more use of activities on the lake would contaminate the water and reduce its quality. Therefore, enhancement of water quality may not generate neither more visitors nor more participants to the water entertaining facilities.

A close examinations in the author's argument reveals that the cleasing initiative for the lake does not have enough justification to attracting the council's funding. Although the argument certainly points out that increased water quality can be positively related to the preferance of potential visitors, it needs to provide a solid evidence on a fundamental drive of people's visiting the lake and try to resolve any arising complaints for the effective development for water sports facilities.