In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

No one can gainsay that contemporary societies have benefitted from innovation and new discoveries. Indisputably, some indivisuals are of the opinion that a novice or an amateur in any fields are more likely to contribute to new findings due to their ambitious mindsets and creative thinking. However, not everyone supports such idea. In some cases, seasoned and knowledgeable experts may be able to make a great break-thorough based on their rich experiences and expertise.

First and foremost, beginners can be important assets to new discovery and inventions. To be specific, they are generally assertive and adventurous, so they are prone to challenge the conventional idea and concept. For instance, they may throw a question on why they are supposed to take an A route, which is most commonly used and established way that everyone follows, and attempt to examine whether A way is the most effectual or not. This may lead to new discovery and innovation. Similary, they are also, as rule of thumbs, creative than the experienced. As everything is new to them, and they have to learn it, they are more open-minded and inclined to come up with original ideas or solutions to a problem. For instance, Steve Jobs is an iconic figure as an creative inventer, who always emphasized on creative thinkings, and he also made a great contribution to new ways using portable computers. Therefore, novice can take advantages on ambitious and creative mindsets to innovative development.

On the other hand, experts who engage in a field for a long term have certainly great ascendency to acheiving new discovery or development. First of all, they are more knowledgeable and sagacious than novice. They have accumulated a great deal of knowledge and expertise from many different areas, so that they are able to combine different concepts and to create better solutions. Secondly, they are also more catchy and sensitive to understand subtle meaning behind the complex phenomenon, based on their enriched experience. They are able to analyse convoluted aspects of a certain event, and understand how to solve or utilize the hiddent potential in the finding. In addition, experts have definitely spent more time and devotions to their works than the novice, and thus there are high potential to find ground-breaking discoveries. Thomas Edison once metioned that “ a genious consists of 1% of inspiration (creativity) and 99% of perspiration (experiences and knowledge). Therefore, experienced experts are able to create more creative and wiseful solution to various problmes than novice. As seen in these cases, experts can be more competent to interprete and analyze new findings and suggest efficient ways to make use of the discovery in a practical way than the beginners.

Based on above discussion, there is no denying the fact that the beginners can be creative and innovative to promote new findings. However, not always is it ture. There are certainly better opportunity that experts can contribute to new discoveries based on their opulent experience and knowledge base as well as their devotion and time consumed for the job. Therefore, we should appreciate experienced people for their contributions to new break-through and encourage young people to endeavor to be experts.