The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

No one can gainsay that in the contemporary societies, the amount of waste has been exponentially increasing. In this respect, some individuals contend that a strict regulation should be implemented to reduce waste production from consumers in town and cities. However, not everyone agrees with such idea. In some cases, the forceful law in waste restriction can lack the concern of marginalized people and increase unnecessary social unrest.

First and foremost, the stringent regulation for waste production can be beneficial to the efficacious reduction of waste. It is challenging to encourage people to decrease the amount of trash that they make, as it is a voluntary option. On the contrary, waste regulation can effectively curb the waste generation, as it is legally binding. If they exceed the limit of trash dumping, they might be fined, so they try to reduce waste production themselves. This would lead to effectual decrease in the amount of garage going to landfills, in conjunction with the reduction of waste combustion, following environmental hazards such as air contamination from the combustion. In general, the strict law for trash can create multiple benefits to the waste control.

However, what was alluded to above cannot be overgeneralized to all contexts. Alongside with the advantages, there are certainly disadvantageous aspects of this law. First of all, the regulation may neglect the marginalized in the society who do not have enough budget to reduce the amount of trash that they produce. In fact, people with enough wealth could try to buy waste processing products such as domestic processer of food waste. However, the poor may not be able to acquire those state-of-the-art technology to reduce waste, and by the regulation, they are forced to get fined by their uncontrollable waste. Therefore, the law implementation can hamper the livelihood of the poor in a society, and hence it ought to carefully examine its disadvantages.

Secondly, the law forcefully makes the people to participate in waste reduction, and the involuntary participation can result in social unrest. Imposition of waste regulation can be unnecessary when other alternatives are available, such as education, seminars, broadcasts to promote the benefits of waste reduction. Without the application of these methods, the rush in waste regulation can trigger people to feel unhappy and dissatisfied with the government, which could result in social conflicts and riots. Therefore, compulsory participation may create anti-governmental atmosphere in the society and undermine the national security.

Based on above discussion, there is no denying the facts that the hard approach for waste reduction can create positive effects in reducing the amount of trash and enhancing environmental benefits. However, it is also important to note that the same law possesses a potential to disregard the marginalized people in a society who cannot afford eco-friendly products to reduce waste like wealthy people but also to create unnecessary social problems. Therefore, the government should carefully examine the disadvantageous aspects of the law and resolve the relevant issues.