The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because instruction in the online programs takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow, and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased along with our budget deficit. To address these problems, Humana University will begin immediately to create and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni. We predict that instituting these online degree programs will help Humana both increase its total enrollment and solve its budget problems."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In the above statement, the author argues that Humana University needs to provide more online degree modules, in order to bring about an increase in total number of student enrollment and resolve institutional budget constraint. While supporting the argument, however, the author makes numerous assumptions that cannot be taken for granted, thus the argument remains largely inconvincing without further evidence to verify unjustified assumptions.

First and foremost, the author bases his or her argument on the pre-supposition that Humana University would have more students to enroll in, by promoting online university courses, as did it work for Omni University last year. However, the author may have neglected the possibilities that it was an ephemeral or an exceptional phenomenon, as the period of data collection was rather brief. For example, in the previous year, Omni University may have gained fame and eminence in their research projects, which could have been the reason why increased number of students had applied for the school. Threfore, for the memorandum to be cogent, the author should have presented the general trend of the influence of providing online university courses, on a basis of long-term data or further observation.

Secondly, closed to this is the author’s claim that the online courses in Omni University has abated the expenditures of students for school dormitory as well as classroom space, as students do not need to be present in a school while taking an online class. However, it is equivocal that the online course is the sole factor determining how many students choose to stay in the dorm. It could have been because of a high price of renting a room in a dorm or poor quality of facilities or amenities that make students reluctant to reside in there. Thus, the author, in support of his or her argument, should have presented evidence pertaining that the online class is the most contributing element for deciding the rates of dormitory renting.

Lastly, although the implementation of online degree program has engendered a rise in new students to Omni University, it does not guarantee that the same measure will bring off the same degree of success for the case of Humana University. This is mainly due to the likelihood that two university have different environments and conditions, and hence the result can be highly discrepant. For instance, Omni University can be renowned for business or literature majors, which are relatively easily taught on-line, and students can also get high quality of lectures from it, whereas Humana University may be well-known for science major. As science is more likely to be learned efficiently by taking part in pratical sessions like doing experiment in a lab, taking online degree would not be highly attractive to prospective students, and would not let more student to enroll in. In light of this, the author is required to have investigated about the differences between the two universities beforehand, as the claim can be weaken or strengthen by it.

To sum up, the author’s assetion is not very well buttressed in the current form. Further evidence considering long-term trend of benefit of online university courses and causal relationship between online lectures and dormitory renting rates, not to mention differences between Onmi University and Humana University, is essential in determining the validity of the author’s conclusion.