Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

No one can gainsay that the government should make a timely and wiseful decision on national and international issues in order to promote the development of the country. Indisputably, some individuals are in the oppionion that the authority should determine those decisions regardless of the opionion of public to create efficient policy-making. However, not everyone agrees on such perspectives. There are some cases that a leadership that cares for opinions of his or her people successfully makes inclusive, satisfactory choices but also lowers the corruption potential of the government.

First and foremost, there are certainly benefits of authoritarian leadership. This is mainly due to the fact that if the government make their own decisions, these can be time-efficient. In fact, it takes a considerable amount of time to reach the agreement of a matter from all various kinds of people with different interests. The autocratic government does not have to go thorugh the conversation with public, and they can also quickly decide a next step to take for a country. This is particularly effective when it comes to war or other emergency, as measures should be taken in no time. Similarly, authoritarian leadership can be helpful to enhance the national economy. This is because they can arbitrarily allocate various resources such as factory or human resources for the sake of their plan, which often brings off effective economic development. Therefore, the government can be highly efficient to make a timely decisions and good impacts on the country’s economy when they do not listen much on the public.

On the contrary, the democratic leadership who are deeply concerned with the people’s ideas and response can come up with a comprehensive policy that encompasses all different perspectives and ideas among people. Although it might take time to reach the consensus, it is surely beneficial to provide solutions to satisfy the greatest number of people. Furthermore, as people are more likely to get satiated by the decisions of the government, as their interests are considered, they build up a high level of repect and loyalty to their government. The more they feel satisfied toward the authority, the more they would relish satisfactory life, which can affect positively their quality of life and physical and phycological health. Hence, democratic style of government can benefit the general public and improve their life satisfaction.

In addition, when national leaders listen to the public, there are less possibility that they would commit unethical or immoral crimes. For instance, it such society, the government are more often than not engaged in public conversation and often scrutinized by the public and media. In this way, they are less likely to commit a crime such as bribery or embezzlement. Therefore, the democratic leadership can prevent the authority from perpetrating significant crimes and promote the integrity of a government.

To sum up, there is no denying the fact that the authoritarian leadership also has many merits such as efficient policy making or economic improvement etc. However, we should not neglect the fact that inclusive approach of a leadership in terms of making a national decision can improve the general traits of the public and their life style, but also democratic leaders can play a role to reduce the governmental serious crime. Therefore, we should aim to make democratic environment in the leadership to help people in the society feel happy and satisfied with their life and government but also to control the leadership’s corruption