1. Government officials should rely on their judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The author asserts that the governors should merely decide according to their judgment instead of caring about the people's requirement. This is the claim with which I generally do not concur. Among the countless reasons which give adherence to my standpoint, I will delve into the most conspicuous ones in the following paragraphs.

The first striking fact which should be considered is the main responsibility of government is servicing people. In fact, the initial and vital rule of a governor is providing the adequate and appealing services, as the governor, in the modern democratic society, is by the people, of the people, and for the people there is the obligation of consideration of people's wishes. Otherwise, the decision made by the governor would be one-directional and solid one which does not match the majority's requirement. According to the noteworthy, intelligence study conducted by the Sociology Department in Tehran University, the outcome of the decision, which is made by the ignorance of the citizens' willing, has the possibility of pleading the people by is less than the twenty percent. This numeric value shows the importance of consideration of the people's wish during the decision making by the leader in pleasing society.

Another equally crucial point which should be high lightened is the relying solely on own judgment by the leader causes corruption or failures in the government system. In fact, the human being by the egocentric attitude is more inclined to do mistake and error; as the mankind considers himself as the center of the universe, the feasibility of making the selfish decision with denying the majority's benefit rises. This fact applies to the government system too; because as the governor considers himself as the right and justice of the society, he is prone to making the hazardous and selfish decision increases. A lucid example of this fact, which shed the spotlight on the issue, the war between Iran and Iraq. During that period if a nationwide survey was conducted by both leaders of Iraq and Iran whether to declare the war or not, both sides would have sustained billions of losses. However, both sides for the sake of their ego continued to battle for eight years.

However, some people claim that according to the variety of denizens and their wishes, it is impossible to satisfy the entire people. This group actually does underestimate a very subtle point which, the benchmark of satisfaction id the majority, not the whole people. Indeed, the government or the mayor does elect by the majority of people, not the entire citizens; in this case, the milestone is the gladness of those voted.

To wrap it up, all the aforementioned reasons and examples explicitly depict the importance of people's willing during the decision making by the governor. As mentioned, since the governor worked for people and there is the possibility of corruption by selfish decision making, the consideration of majorities' wish is necessary.