The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company.

"Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase—and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The Planning Department of an electric power company mentioned in memorandum that there will not be necessity of construction of new generating plant. The department explained the reasons behind the decision which are not seems to be appropriate. The assumption made by the authority is there is no need for extra power supply in that area as survey suggested that people are eager to conserve energy and other options reached to the market which can replace the present electric appliances. The assumptions made to strengthen the argument however it is therefore unconvincing.

Additionally, the planning department consider the surveys which indicate that home owners are eager to save electricity. This statement suggests that people are interested to save electricity whether they are doing something to save electricity or not is unclear. The department considers only usage by homeowners and ignore electricity consumption by commercial market and industrial offices. The department should do pilot study in their area to calculate the demand of electricity usage. Despite of relaying on others survey the company should collect concrete data and plan according to it. The electric appliances manufacturing industries are marketing home appliances such as refrigerators and air conditioners which allure the public. Home appliances are need for life comforts and people cannot ignore to buy such products. So, the assumption made that people will decrease use of electricity.

Moreover, the department also considers the new technologies which can replace present electric power such as solar energy. solar heater and other solar appliances are very costly. Everyone cannot buy such expensive technologies and electric appliances do not run with solar energy. Homeowners will not bear two type of expenses for electricity. The department should consider that every technology has flaws and take time to establish. The new power plant will be profitable if company plan according to reality.

Furthermore, the planning department concluded that demand for electricity in their area will not increase and may decline slightly. The conclusion is unappropriated because there is different factor which affect number of consumers. These factors are fluctuation of population, rental homes, commercial area, consumers response for new technology, etc., should consider by department. The per capital income of the area also suggests purchasing power of the people. Due to such factors it may possible that the demand of electric power rise in spite of declining and in that case, they have to fulfill their demands by supplying power. If the company has fund to build new power generating plant then they should work on it, because demand of electricity will increase surly as technologies gifts people to make life more and more comfortable.

Finally, all these points are against the department's assertion. They have not supported their argument with strong evidence. They should have studied about the expected changes in the area's population, and about the condition and energy-efficiency of the three existing electric power plants.