The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. I predict that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits even more dramatically."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The owner of the Sunnyside Tower apartment complex wants to gain profit by limiting supply of water. One month ago, the shower heads in first three buildings modified to decrease the water flow up to one-third of what it used to be. He assumes that due to modifying shower heads there will considering saving for Sunnyside corporation. He also looking for dramatically increase in profit with use of modifying shower heads to restrict water flow in all twelve buildings. A careful analysis of the given evidence reveals loopholes that weaken the argument to a great extent.

A major loophole the owner expects dramatically profit without getting result of present experiment. The shower heads in first three buildings are modified as experiment but the before and after reading of supply of water do not receive yet. They had decreases water flow up to one-third to previous pressure which does not means people will use less water. The managers have not any evidence about how much water used so they cannot estimate profit gained by three experimental buildings. In this realistic condition the owner expected that the profit will definite if modification done in all twelve buildings. Therefore, owner should predict realistic goals and for realistic goals the evidences must.

Another obvious flaw in the given argument is they did not get any complaint regarding showers, but they have complaints of low water pressure. There is a plausibility that the people are unable to identify about showers work and they considered that showers are new so the problem is outside. One more possibility the complaints of low water pressure comes from other buildings rather than first three. In the argument the author did not mention about address of complaints. The managers should analyses the complaints whether these complaints are related to their plan of low water pressure supply or its general due to maintenance was not proper. It should be noted that without evidences we cannot predict profit definitely.

Additionally, the water is basic need of human life. So, people will affect due to low water pressure and get irritated because of wasting their time. In rush hours of morning when everyone is busy for get ready to go out that time the low water pressure can hurdle for residents. The Sunnyside Towers apartment complex is looking for profit from low water supply may convert to loss if residents get puzzled in daily life. Profit from modified shower heads may not be a large amount but if the residents leave the building the owner will have to pay double. So, the owner should go through the whole plan before assuming definite profit.

Conclusively, the given argument fails to convince the reader that restricting the flow of water will indeed result in less water usage thereby saving the amount of money that is paid by the corporation for the usage of water. The argument could have been substantiated by evidence that proved that the water usage has actually reduced after imposing the restriction on water flow.