The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company quot Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy At the same time manufacturers are now marketing many home

In the memorandum from the planning department it is stated that, home owners are eager to conserve energy and there are several emerging products which are cost effective and for these two reasons author assumes that total demand of energy will decrease and there will be no need for constructing new power generating plant. So, At first glance authors argument appeals to be convincing but further reflection reveals that it is rife with hole and assumptions. Stated in this way, argument fails to consider several key factors on the basis of which it could be evaluated.

To begin with, the argument readily assumes that just because people are eager to conserve energy they are willing to buy the home appliances that are energy efficient without considering other several factors such as affordability, after service of the home appliances, how easily are they available in the market and are they reliable and cost effective. This argument could have been much clearer if author would have explicitly stated about people's willingness to buy these appliances at the cost of overspending and relying on the appliances to save energy.

Furthermore, the argument claims that three electric generating plants in operation have met the needs in last 20 years. This is again very weak and absurd claim as the argument does not demonstrate any statistical data of population over last 20 years. Isn't this possible that over 20 years of time frame, population has increased drastically and people currently living there face dearth of electricity. To better evaluate the argument we would need the data of people migrated in the city and the current population of that city

Finally, There are some questions that needs to be answered. How reliable was the survey? What were the questions asked to the people? Were the suggestions of citizens were taken into consideration? Also, author assumed that marketing home appliances will lead to successful sales of these devices without giving any data about sales and people using these devices. Without convincing answer to these questions, one is left with impression that the claim is more wishful thinking rather than a substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above mentioned reasons and is therefore unconvincing. It could be considerably strengthened if author clearly mentioned all the relevant facts like affordability of new appliances, people's willingness to buy these appliances, statistical data about population over last 20 years and will the marketing strategy effective to persuade people to buy these appliances In order to asses the situation, it is essential to have full knowledge for the above factors and without this information the argument remains unsubstantiated and open to debate.