The following memorandum is from the manager of Bagel Mania Bakery Recently Bagel Mania replaced sugar with saccharin a sugar substitute throughout its bakeries in the Northeast areas of the USA Contrary to initial expectations this change did not have an

In the memorandum, it is stated that saccharin should be use as an substitue for sugar because people does not have any issues for consuming it and there are no major complaints received when the Bagel Mania Bakery did so. So, at first glance the argument seems to be convincing, but further reflection reveals that it is rife with holes and assumptions.

To begin with, author has mentioned that 10 percent of customers have mentioned the issue with use of sachharin in their bakery products. So, it is not a major concern for them. However, in the present tense it is 10 percent, what about future scenario? Were they taken into consideration while assuming that it won't affect sales. Moreover, author did not provide any concrete data about customers, 10 percent of what? Also, initial expectations are not mentioned here? what was the expectation and on which basis the data was accumulated before coming to the conclusion about using saccharin as a substitute.

Furthermore, author mentions that only 10 percent have grumbled about the change and so it is no big deal. Here the author fails to consider that 10 percents are complains and not the 10 percent of customers who used to buy from the Bagel Mania Bakery. It is possible that, people instead of complaining about the saccharin used as substitute, they changed the bakery, they used to purchase from in the past i.e Bagel Mania. The argument could have been strenghned if author provides the sales and profit data. If the sales and profit figures are same as before, then it is plausible to assume that customers did not have issues with the change. If the sales are going down because of change, it is implicit or plausible to think that substitute of sugar with sachharin was one of the reason.

Finally, the author assumes that if in certain vicinity people did not have issues with the change, it would be same for all the people where the branches of Bagel Mania are present. Author fails to consider that, people with different regions may have different tastes. It is possible that other people would be reluctant to consume this bakery products. Before implementing it, there should be a survey which explicitly mentions that people are okay to consume saccharin as a substitute for sugar. If the change is made in all the branches and all the customers of branch are not satisfied with it, it can cause some serious issue for company and their sales.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above mentioned reasons and is therefore unconvincing. It could be considerably strengthened if the author clearly mentioned all the relevant facts about sales, statistical data of people who complaints, people's preference who are customers of other branches and survey about the change. In order to asses the merits of a situation, it is essential to have full knowledge.