An international development organization in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A While seeds for this new type of millet cost more farmers will be p

In the response, it is stated that Tagus should make use of engineered millet high seeds to overcome the deficiency of Vitamin A. So , At first glance this argument appeals to be convincing but further reflection reveals that it is rife with holes and assumptions. Stated in this way, it fails to consider several factors on the basis of which it could be evaluated.

To begin with, author claims that the new breed of millet high should be produced to deal with Vitamin A. However the author does not provide any substantiate evidence of the contents of millet high and is millet high sufficient source of Vitamin A. It is no where mentioned that millet high is good source of Vitamin A. Even if it has commensurate amount of Vitamin A, what about other vitamins and nutrients that a human body needs. Furthermore, How reliable is the claim made by international development organization in response to deficiency of Vitamin A to consider the production of millet high seeds.

In addition to this, author readily assumes that there are no other substitutes for vitamin A than millet high and he urges to grow the seed which are not cost effective. Firstly, it is mentioned that Tagus is impoverished nation and over that if millet costs more, Does this sound cogent, that farmers should grow millet high. Is it not possible that in the country like Tagus people are relying on the other sources of Vitamin A because of millet high affordability.

Finally, author states that since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. This is very weak assumption again. Author does not considers the people's reluctance to engineered breed. It is possible that people of Tagus would not prefer artificial breed over natural breed. There should be evidence that provides the predilection of Tagus people for millet breed.

In conclusion, this argument is flawed for several reasons and is therefore unconvincing. It could be strengthened if author clearly states all the relevant facts about millet high seeds, other sources of Vitamin A, are the fields and agriculture apt for these new seeds, people's opinions to consume engineered millet high. Without this information, argument remains unsubstantiated and open to debate