The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station Over the past year our late night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news During this period most of the complaint

In the memorandum, from business manger of television station, it is stated that there are complaints regarding national news and loss of revenue because of devoted time to national news over local news. So, at first glance the author's argument seems to be convincing but further reflection reveals that it is rife with holes and assumption.

To begin with, the author mentions that over the past years the time devoted to weather and local news is decreased and more time is devoted to national news. Here the author doesn't provide any statistical data of years, how much time was increased and how did it exactly affect the viewership of the channel. Without any solid evidence and statistics about time period and years one can't get the adequate idea about what was the exact change.

Furthermore, the author states that many complaints had been received from viewers concerned with weather and local news coverage. The author fails to provide concrete evidences of complaints received. As complaints could be of quality of coverage, or repetitive news about same topic. It is possible that people did not have problem with the content which is shown i.e. national news but because it was shown for the less time. As author doesn't mention what were the exact complaints of the people, so we can't draw conclusion about people wanting weather and local news over national news. Also, was there any survey conducted about people's predilection for local news and would the viewership will be regained if time of weather and local news is increased again to its original time.

Finally, the author mentions that local business who used to advertise during late night news program has cancelled their contract. Here if the author states the reasons of cancelled contract explicitly, it would be better to evaluate the reasons. Company could cancel the contracts for various reasons such as, arguments between TV station staff and business managers, the affordability and pricing of advertisements, some internal financial issues in the company. So, without any substantial evidence one cannot assume that company cancelling their contracts were due to increased time to national news.

In conclusion, the argument if flawed for the above mentioned reasons and it is therefore unconvincing. It could be considerably strengthened if the author clearly mentioned all the relevant facts about time, quality of coverage, people's exact complaints, reasons of cancelled contracts and survey of people's preference.