The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company According to a recent report from our marketing department during the past year fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies than in any

In the given memorandum it is suggested that the people are not fully aware of Super Screen produced movie because of the ack of advertising inspite of the content of movie which is positive according to the reviews they got. So, at first glance the argument appeals to be convincing but further reflection reveals that it is rife with holes and assumptions. Stated in this way the argument fails to consider several other factors.

To begin with, argument readily assumes that just because fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies so they were not aware of the produced film due to lack of advertisements. Here the argument fails to consider that it is highly possible that people knew about it and still they prefer to not watch these movies. Maybe the content was good but what about the genre. Maybe people were not interested in the genre of the Super Screen- produced movie. The argument could have been much clearer if it explicitly stated about people's predilection for genre and what is being produced matches or not.

In addition to this, the argument claims that percentage of positive reviews are increased comparatively, but here the argument fails to give the number of people surveyed in these years. Is it not possible that in past years number of people were way more than recent surveyed people? So even if the 30 percent of people liked it in past so there is high possibility that the good word for movie was spread and people were inclined to see. If the argument could have provided the number of people surveyed it would be cogent to draw conclusion based on that.

Finally, there are some questions that needs to be answered, how reliable was the survey to decide whether the content was really good? What is the probability of getting higher success rate in near future if companies allocates more budget to advertising? Was there any proven success in past because of marketing? Just beacuse public did not watch the produced movied does not means they were not aware of the movies, there could be several other reasons like genre, quality of movie, expense of tickets. Without convincing answers to these questions it is more of wishful thinking that allocating budget would make people attend the movies.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for above mentioned reasons and it is therefore unconvincing. It could be considerably strengthened if the author clearly mentioned all the relevant facts about people's inclination, reports with evidence, exact percenatges and statistics of viewership, what were the reviews and based on that is it really necessary to allocate more funds. Without this information, argument reamins unsubstantiated and open to debate.