Twenty years ago Dr Field a noted anthropologist visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents However my recent interviews with

In the given argument, it is stated Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertain village is invalid because of Dr. Karp's recent observations and survey about the Tertain village. So at first glance, the author's argument appeals to be convincing but further reflection reveals that it is rife with holes and assumptions. Stated in this way, the argument fails to consider several key factors on the basis of which it could be evaluated.

To begin with, the author readily assumes that the conditions and circumstances which were observed by Dr. Field twenty years ago would be the same as they are now in Dr. Karp's research. It is highly possible that the conditions would have been changed. Twenty years before the children in Tertia may have been reared by an entire village rather than their biological parents. The argument could have been clearer if it explicitly stated the population of Tertia village and the conditions back then and now.

In addition to this, the argument claims that just because in Dr. Karp's observation children spent the commensurate amount of time talking about their biological parents so they would have reared them. It is again very weak and absurd claim as this argument does not demonstrate what the children were talking about. Is it not possible that they were criticizing their parents for not paying attention to them? Maybe they were not talking about any positive things about their parents and complaining about them. So to better evaluate Dr. Karp's survey there should be some specific evidence about what the children were talking about.

Finally, there are some questions that need to be answered. How reliable was Dr Karp's survey? What was the question asked in both the surveys? Furthermore, there should be evidences the student's responses and what were their connotations. Is it necessary to go for another survey via an interview-centered method? Is this method effective or it is outdated and there should be some other technique to know abput the actual scenarion in Tertain village.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for above-mentioned reasons and it is therefore unconvincing. It could be considerably strengthened if the author clearly mentioned all the relevant facts about the survey, questions that were asked, the scenario and population of the Tertian village and evidences about the surveys.

Without this information, the argument remains unsubstantiated and open to debate.