A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position

Curriculum is one of the most important thing while our learning process. In the prompt it is suggested that nation should let students study the same curriculum until they enter the college. In my opinion, I strongly agree to the claim for several reasons.

To begin with, having same national curriculum till our high school gives equal and fair chances to all the students. As same curriculum is taught to everyone and so they have equal opportunities. The fairness in education system matters as many children are left behind because they don't get quality education while they are in their high school. For instance, In India, private schools follows the central board curriculum whereas in some public school, state syllabus is taught. The difference in these syllabus doesn't give equal chance to all the students. As the competitive exams for engineering and medical like JEE and NEET are based on CBSE's curriculum. So the student who didn't have access to CBSE's curriculum are likely to fail these exams or get low grades.

In addition to this, while you are in your early 20's, having national curriculum will make sure that you know your area on interest. Student learn all the subjects and then they can decide their forte and interest when opting the major subject for college. For example, when I was in my high school, I was interested in biology and science and that invoked the feeling of opting for medical for my majors. However later in my higher secondary school, I got exposed to Computer Science and coding part of the computers. So when I got to know about this field, my inclination towards computer and technology began and I opted CS for my majors. So, as I had access to variety of subjects, I could choose what I wanted to do for my majors.

Finally, when your nation follows the same curriculum for every school, the kids and students who has to change their cities because of their parents transferable job get the benefit of continuing their studies without any hindrances. For instance, One of my friend was transferred from Delhi to Pune in mid- term, he was really tensed because of the change in curriculum and he was anxious about how he will cope up the new syllabus because different cities had different boards and varying syllabus. So, had it been same curriculum, it would be helpful for all those students who change their schools in mid term or while pursuing their high school.

Of course some argue that there should be different curriculum based on the student's ability and his area of interest from beginning, but I feel that having same curriculum has great advantages over different curriculum. One is exposed to all types of subjects, strong math and logic foundation is built and everyone gets fair and equal chance to compete with the world.