A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The author recommends to have a same national curriculum for all students until they enter college. As appeasing as this might seem there are several drawbacks to having a common ground to judge various students with different capabilities and mindsets.

Forcing students to follow a common curriculum till they enter college may not prove to be advantageous for them. Different students have varying level of creative and analytical abilities. For eg, a student who may excel in art or sports may not be able to solve simple math problems. This may demotivate the student and pressurize his/her parents as well. Additionally, another student of the same class may be very intelligent in math and science, however severely lacks in sports. This student may lose the opportunity of scoring high due to less grades in Physical Education. Thus, adopting this recommendation would not work for a significant amount of students and in fact stunt their progress, who otherwise might excel in their domains.

Moreover, students may not all be from the same financial or economic background. This plays a major role while reasoning with this recommendation as it is possible that parents of students who have a stable financial living may want a better curriculum for their child. They may be willing to spend more to ensure the best result for their offsprings. On the other hand, parents of students from a poor background may not have enough resources to spend on the educatation of their child. Here, students should have reservations and choices to study only specically something could help them to become financially independent and grow further. Such families should not be forced with the same curriculum which they can't afford. This would infact be a hinderance for the literacy of that country.

Howsoever, some may argue that a same common base may allows students of different levels to be judged on the same platform and thus makes the evaluation of deserved candidates easier. For eg, in India the students of engineering background are compulsorily asked to give JEE Mains to apply for the course. The results of this exam provide the base for which students are eligible and which aren't. This may give an easy way for the college and institutions to decide who to admit it may still not provide give an accurate position in determining a students abilities.

Thereby, while the recommendation seems to be beneficial for the nation, there are other factors that need to be taken into consideration before making any final decisions for the future of the country.