The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the given memorandum the manager recommends to restore their time devoted for weather and local news in order to attract viewers and not lose any further advertising revenues. This proposal is based upon his deduction that they receieved complaints about the chages in late-news programs of the television stations and the loss of an advertising contract with a local business. The author has drawn several hasty conclusions with inadequate evidence to support the same.

Mentioning the complaints recieved from the concerned viewers, the authors assumes that a majority of viewers would like to restore the former way of time alocation of the news. The author does not provide any evidence regarding the number of complaints and the type of complaints recieved about the changes in new program. It could be a very small proportion of people of who would like to change back to old way while other may infact be enjoying listening to the national news more than the weather and local news. Moreover, the author doesn't mention if the change has caused any decrease in the number of viewers. If there is no reduction in the number of viewers then changing back to the old level may not attract more viewers. Thus without enough data the author's recommendation does not seems to make a cogent case. The author must provide more information to make his prediction reliable.

Additionally, the author the author states that if they continue with current late-news program they might lose several advertising contracts with local businesses. The author makes this baseless assumption on just one loss of contract. He doesn't consider the possibility that showing national news could attract advertising contracts from national companies and thus increase the revenue. He also doesn't take into note that possibly only this company was unhappy with the change in the news programs while it wouldn't affect the other local businesses. He also doesn't consider other factors which may have lead to the company terminating their contract. It possible they found a better station or they just could't further continue the advertising for their business due their personal losses. Thus the author doesn't provide relevant and supporting data which weakens his argument.

Examining all various factors and angles involved in the changing the late-news program, the argument fails to provide enough evidence to justify the autors recommendation of adopting the former level again.