The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the given letter recommends his/her friend that Adams Realty should one's choice if they wish to sell their home. The author bases this conclusion based on several hurried assumptions that need to be evaluated.

The author states that Adams has 40 real estate agents while Fitch has 25. He believes that this plays an important role in deciding which firm is better. The author however doesn't evaluate the fact that even though Adams has more number of employees it is possible that they don't work with dedication. The employees at Fitch could be working only part-time but they might be doing effective and productive work in that time. Thus the author here doesn't accurately provide a conclusion.

The author further states that Adams' revenue for last year was twice that of Fitch, averaging at $168000 while Fitch's at $144,000. However, the author provides vague data by giving averages and no supporting evidence as to where it has been obtained. Additionally, right conclusions cannot be drawn on the basis of data for a single year as probably the sales may have gone up or down due to fluctuation in the market. We also need to note that even though Adams had a successful home sales, Finch could have had better sales outside the town. Thus, merely stating vague, limited data doesn't justify the argument.

The author then tries to convince by mentioning that Adams sell faster as compared to Fitch. He bases this conclusion on the fact that ten years ago when the author had listed his/her home at Fitch it took more than four months while recently at Adams it took one month. This fails to make a convincing argument as the author wrongfully compares his experience from 10 years ago to his recent experience. It is possible that now at Fitch the service has improved and would take lesser time now. It is also necessary to point out that 10 years ago the market could have been simply down due to which it took so long to sell and that now has improved greatly. The author hence, doesn't consider all facts before hastily drawing conclusions.

Taking into consideration the above assumptions taken by the author it seems that the conclusions drawn are not thoroughly thought and require to be evaluated. The author makes several assumptions that need to be addressed by his/her friend before coming to a conclusion.