The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. By installing software to detect employees' Internet use on company computers, we can prevent employees from wasting time, foster a better work ethic at Climpson, and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the recommendation given by the vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries, the vice president proposes monitoring the use of Internet of their employees at their workstations. This, the author believes would improve work ethics and overall profits at the Climpson. Although this recommendation is well-meant it needs to be substantiated with further analysis.

Firstly, the author states that implementing electronic monitoring software to track Internet usage would improve the productivity of the employees. The author makes an assumption that the employees don't use the internet at all for work. this would make it difficult to differentiate when they are working and when not. Furthermore, the author naively assumes that the employees wouldn't find an alternate way to spend time on recreational activities. It is possible that they may just out-of-spite may not complete or delay their work by the deadlines. It is also possible that the software added on the workstation could act as a hindrance to the employees by demotivating them as they would constantly be reminded someone is watching them. Thus the author conclusion may not stand and in fact, possibly not increase but decrease the productivity of the employees.

Additionally, the author makes a hasty decision about identifying and punishing the employees who use their workstations for recreational activities. This may lead to the employees harbouring ill feeling towards the company. The author doesn't take into consideration the emotions of the employees. Other means to achieve the goal should be explored before resorting to punishments. Unless, this solution is based on any authentic or reliable source, the author's recommendation cannot be held valid.

Lastly, the author conclusively concludes that by installing this software to detect the Internet time of the employees it would increase the overall profits and foster a better work ethics. This may not stand true as the author assumes that the process of installing the software is cheap and easy. It could, in fact, be expensive, long and require constant maintenance. It is also possible the company may not have the available funds to spend on getting the software installed. Thereby, it is necessary that the author examines all the factors involved before making an unwarranted assumption that his recommendation would definitely benefit the company.

The author's conclusion is based on hurriedly made assumptions. While the proposal to monitor the employees' Internet time highlights possibility, however additional information is required to warrant any further action.