The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The vice president of Quiot Manufacturing draws a conclusion that more sleep for the workers

at Quiot would lead to lesser number of on-the-job accidents. He bases this conclusion on the assumption that one hour of lesser shift timings benefited the workers at Panoply.

These arguments however don't seems to merit the author's conclusion as the conditions at Panoply and Quiot may not be similar after all.

The author begins with the assumption that 30 percent more accidents occur at Quiot because the shifts of workers are longer by one hour than the shift timings at Panoply.

However, the author doesn't take into consideration the fact that workers may not be sleeping enough only because of the extra hour in their shift but because they spend time in other activities after their shift finishes.

For example, its possible some workers don't earn enough money and thus work two jobs. Due to which they are possibly unable to complete their sleep. Others could possibly be spending their time binge-watching or playing games rather than sleeping.

The author just doesn't look for strong proofs. Thus it is absolutely incorrect for the author to assume that merely one extra hour on the shift caused the workers at Quiot sleep deprivation.

The author further leaps to the conclusion that sleep and fatigue are the reasons for most on-the-job accidents. While in some cases this may be true, its may not hold true for all cases.

The author fails to provide proofs that the accidents are caused by sleep loss. He doesn't consider the possibility that the accidents could have occured due to technical or machinery errors. For example, it is possible that Quiot is an old plant whereas Panoply is a newer plant and has the latest and safe machinery while Quiot has not maintained them well thus causing the increased accidents. Thus it doesn't neccesarily mean that sleep could be the sole reason for more accidents.

It is also possible that the number of people working at Quoit are more thus staistically showing more number of accidents. The workers at Quiot could also be careless on the job thus leading to more accidents, while people at Panoply are more carefull.This also marks another assumption the author made in the statement.

Hereby, we can see that even though the author may have some merit, he has made some hurried assumption and not taken into consideration all possible views. This thus doesn't support his argument of lessening the shift timings of workers at Quiot by one hour to prevent accidents.