Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Basing the salaries of the teachers' on the success of their students doesn't seem an apt claim. While it is true that a good teacher is the one whose students excel, it mustn't be the deciding factor of his/her salary.

It is entirely wrong to base a teachers salary solely on the basis of the academic performance of his/her student. As this claim assumes that a teacher's credibility is merely based on the fact that most of the students score maximum. This is howsoever is not true. Let us consider this scenario where Teacher A has various types of students in her class. Some are sharp while others a little weak. Teacher B however has a class full of bright students. Teacher A takes a lot of effort and improves the scores of weak students and they score higher than their previous average. Teacher B takes very little effort and his/her students being bright study on their own and achieve great scores. This scenario shows that Teacher A actually being a better teacher would not be paid as much as Teacher B only due the policy stating that the teacher teaching the students with better grades gets paid better.

A teacher is often judged on the basis of how her students perform. This thought process is not wrong. A child is encouraged and guided by their teachers. A young child tends to treat his teacher as his/her idol and follows everything the teacher says. The teacher, here, has the responsibility of shaping the child's mind, inspiring curiosity and helping achieve academic success. For example, when I was in kindergarten, my teacher Ms. Verma was my greatest idol. At some point I listened to her more than to my parents. She helped me focus of my education and enjoy what I studied.

While it is a fact that a teacher has a significant importance in a child's life, it cannot be said that he/she are the only factors which lead them to excel. Teachers might give their best to help a student improve but it does finally depend on the child if he/she wishes to focus on their academics. Sometimes the attitudes of the parents of the children may not be supportive to what the faculty says. For eg, In the state of Gujrat most parents of wealthy families do not think highly of education. They wish for their children to continue with their business thus encouraging them to work and not study. Thus in situations as such despite the teacher's efforts the students may not reciprocate the efforts taken.

A teacher shall not be awarded by paying higher salary for better academic results from students, but, school boards may decide to award them to boost their morale and give them a push to do better.