It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

The debate on whether students should focus more on understanding ideas and concepts or whether to learn facts has been going on for decades. While merely learning facts may seem valuable for a short-time, may not be productive in a long run. Thus I support that it is more important to understand concepts than learn facts.

Most teachers teach their students basic facts. The exams further conducted expect student to simply learn and memorize these facts for a good result. Therefore, students don't really understand the concept but simply memorize for good marks and forget what was learnt soon after it. I can explain through a personal experience. In grade 10, I had a History teacher who didn't ask us to remember dates of various wars. She made sure we understood why the wars happened, the results and their implications which in turn made it easy to know which order they took place in. If she had not done so I would probably not be able to still recollect most years and why the specific wars took place. So to gain knowledge facts simply are not useful, understanding them is infact necessary.

Secondly, understanding concepts ensures that we think. Simply grasping the facts won't make us wonder about how, why or when things happened. Innovation happens because we think. We think better when we understand. A friend of mine was didn't do well in her science exams. Most people assumed she was just not good at it. However she now owns an IT company and employs 25 and more people at the age of 20. This portrays that she probably wasn't that good at memorizing the facts and writing down in the exams but she indeed understood her concepts and was able to implement it far better than those who scored high. Thus technological advancements, innovations and creativity aren't dependent on the ability grasp facts but more to absorb their essence and apply them in our daily life.

Hence, students shouldn't be merely forced to learn but to actually understand it. This would be more beneficial to the development of the students and our society. Schools should adopt better teaching strategies to ensure this.