Preston County

At first glance, the author's argument appeals to be convincing, but further reflection reveals that it is rife with holes and assumptions about outsiders or migrants being responsible for incidences of vandalism and destruction of public property.

To begin with, author states that reports of damage and destruction were steadily increased. So author uses the word "reports". What is the evidence that these reports were true and in the best interest of Preston County. It is possible that people reporting these incidences had some other motives and they were not true. There should be a substantial evidences for the incident occured in the country.

In addition to it, What does steadily increased means? Is there any specific scale of measuring these incidences. Author should give some proofs about exact number of cases reported every week or month so that it is cogent a to think about the magnitude and occurennces of damage and destruction taking place in Preston.

Furthermore, People travelling to Preston county over the past few years and increased incidences of vandalism doesn'go hand in hand. It is nonsensical to think that out-of-state travellers had done this without providing any proofs. Citizens "believe" that outsiders were the reason for destructuion.Is it plausible to state something so confidently just beacsue someo people had to say about this? Are they reliable source of getting information? Is there any chance of Preston County people had deliberately tried to calumny outsiders. So just because people said or believed about this incidences, we can't aver about the outsiders role in destructing the property.

Finally, it is stated that county government should take firm steps to lessen the number of out-of-state migrants to preclude further destruction. Author assumed that just by preventing people to travel to Preston legally would solve this problems. What if just out of umbrage, people migrated illegaly and tried to sabotage Preston, as without any corrobaration government tried to alleged them for destructing public property of Preston.

To sum up, this argument is weak, full of assumptions about out-of-state migrants and their deeds which caused vandalism and destruction. There are no proof and evidences about these incidences taking place and who exactly was behind all of this.