The movie watching preferences of citizen of Filmopolis conducted by The Film and Television institute everyone said they like action movies However in a second study the researchers found that the most frequently rented were animated children s movies

This argument is unconvincing because it is rife with holes and assumptions about author concluding that the respondents in first study had misrepresented their movie preferences. Writer's conclusion about misrepresentation of the respondents preferences is arrived at by line of thinking that stands on certain assumptions which, if they are not justified, will render the conclusion baseless.

To begin with, the argument relies on assumption that just because people rented animated children's movies so they preferred to watching those movies, there is possibility that the movies they rented was not for them but for their children. As it is nowhere mentioned about people liking these animated children movies, because it was not explicitly asked to them about their preference in second survey whereas in the first survey people were asked about their preferences and they responded with clear intent about their liking towards the action movies.

In addition with this, the term "most" doesn't gives us any statistical information about surveyed people in the first as well as second survey. Exactly how many people were surveyed? What was the age group of people surveyed? If in the first survey people were young adults and in second survey there were children, preferences are likely to be varied.

Furthermore, it is possible that even if people rented animated children's movies, it is because they are okay watching these movies at home but they would love watching action movies in theatres and cinema halls to enhance their experience and the love for the action scenes.

Finally, if the TV channels are providing action movies because of this proven preference. This must leave little or no air time for animated movie channels for children animated movies. Even this is erroneous assumptions that animated movies are not action movies because there had been movies where animated movies contained lots of action and content which action movie provides.

Thus, Due to lack of evidence about statistical data of people who were surveyed, age group of the audience and no data of preferences of people watching action movies in other form or just to say in theatres, this argument is based on baseless assumptions and it cannot lead to the conclusion drawn by study team.