Manned space flight is costly and dangerous Moreover the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending m

At first glance, the author's argument appeals to be convincing, but further reflection reveals that it is rife with holes and assumptions about investing our resources in unmanned space flight which is less costly and less dangerous.

To begin with, the author stated that manned space flight is costly and dangerous, but it is nowhere compared and stated with some plausible definitions of costly and dangerous. It is highly possible that for certain countries the cost required to send manned space flight is safer and in the budget where they don't feel it is costlier, So the author should have mentioned the exact risks of sending the manned space flights with some evidence of costs and budget required for it.

In addition to this, the author stated that the recent success of a series of unnamed space and probes has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated. So I have this question, Was there no scope for more evidence or more success there?. Is it not possible that by sending manned space flight, we could have gathered more information with the evidence of human eyes.

Furthermore, what does a great deal of information means? There is no evidence of how much information was extracted by sending unmanned space flights. The thing about sending manned space flight is riskier, doesn't sound convincing, because the ability of humans to perform under the certain condition where reflexes and common sense is required is not possessed by machines. Let's assume there is a certain situation where a machine doesn't know what would be the ethical move to save the debacle to happen. There comes a manned space flight in the picture because humans know how to deal with these kinds of situations and avoid the disaster to happen.

Finally, it is understandable and known that machines have great accuracy but the advent that men and women have about in-general everything that is required for a great success of space missions is what lacks in sending the unmanned space probes and flights.

To sum up, this argument is weak due to flaws, weak comparisons and assumptions about unmanned space flights with no risk involved and a great success related to it.