The following memorandum is from the manager of Bagel Mania Bakery.

Recently Bagel Mania replaced sugar with saccharin, a sugar substitute, throughout its bakeries in the Northeast areas of the USA. Contrary to initial expectations, this change did not have an adverse impact on our customer’s preferences. So far, only 10 percent of our customers have grumbled about this change suggesting that an average of 90 customers out 100 have no issues with the use of saccharin in our baked products. Since our customers have not voiced great concern about the use of saccharin instead of sugar, it is evident that we should implement this change in all the branches of Bagel Mania bakeries in rest of the country.

After reading the memorandum the statements made by author seems plausible but these statements are based on many unwarranted assumptions. Therefore, the conclusion from the manager of Bagel Mania Bakery is not valid.

First of all, the manager states that this change did not had any adverse impact on their customer's preferences. But, these are only initial reactions and customer's preferences might change after a span of time. It might have happened that customers had not noticed it after the first eating but after some span of time they might come to know the change in test and might complain about it. Manager must also look at the number of customers who ate these products. It might had happened that the number of customer had decreased after knowing it from others about the change and only those who like saccharin might had came to eat these new products.

In the next line, the manager states that only 10 percent of their customers had grumbled about this change suggesting that an average of 90 customers out of 100 have no issues with the use of saccharin in their baked products. But the managers has not mentioned about the number of customers involved in the survey and conducting survey in limited customers will not be as effective as the survey conducted with large amount of customers. For example, if only 50 customers were involved in the survey then survey will not be as effective as the survey involving 1000 customers because reactions of only 50 people cannot be applied to the liking or disliking of 1000 customers. And also, 10 percent is not a less percentage. It might lead to decrease in the sales of Bagel Mania Bakery. So the managers should also see the change in the sales and profit after implementing this change. And even these 10 percent of customers might tell their known ones about the change made which might lead in the decrease of the sales of Bagel Mania Bakery.

At last, the manager states that he wants to implement this change in all the branches in rest of the country. But results based on only northeast part of the country can't be applied all over the country. Likes and dislikes of people might change place to place so it won't be a good decision to implement this change all over the country. First the manager should do a proper survey in each and every part of the country to get a clear view about likes and dislikes of people living in different parts of the country. Or else, the sales of the Bakery might decrease.

So at last, I want conclude that the statements made by the managers are based on many unwarranted assumptions. So, before implementing this change all over the country the manager should do a proper survey involving people of various age group and it should be done in large quantity.