The primary goal of education is to get a job.

First of all,what is education? Education can be anything from learning a language to learning how to cook. Many times we go to classes to learn different sports that doesn't mean that we want to pursue our career in that particular sports. We just do that for our hobbies. Even if the author is talking about academic education then also a person completing his education will not neccesarily do a job he might do business or might pursue his passion as a career. So according to me primary aim of education is to develop skills in person in that particular field. After development of skills that person can do anything he wants and job not the only option left for him.

Pursuing education in a particular field and doing job or career in that field are 2 different things. For example, famous cricketer and also ex captain of Indian Cricket Team Anil Kumble is a IIT Graduate. Billioniare Elon Musk, the founder of Tesla and SpaceX has done his graduation in Arts. Just imagine if Elon Musk would have pursued his career in Arts field and Anil Kumble would have decided to join job then we would not have got such talents in their fields.

Also if someone want to start a business after pursuing education instead of job. For example, a Mechanical Engineer who has completed his Bachelors wants to start a manufacturing workshop so in such case his primary goal was so start a workshop or a Civil Engineer wants to start his own Construction Company after completing his education.

But in today's world of competition the primary goal of education is to get a job. As we see many students are not pursuing career in the fields in which they are interested but in the field where jobs are available. For example,many Mechanical Engineers who are not ineterested in things like coding etc are learning coding for better job opportunities. But due to lack interest in that particular field it leads to depression anxiety etc.

Atlast,I just want to say that primary goal of education differs person to person. We can't say what is going on in someone's mind. So going to the conclusion that primary goal of education is to get a job will not be appropriate