The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government,industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition

According to me leader is the one who takes everyone with him. Leader is the one who motivates his colleages and his teammates for better work. Leader is the one who keeps himself active all the time. So I think that leader should posses both sense of cooperation and competition.

Some might think competition leads to negative results like jealousy ete, but if someone provides a healthy competition to his comtemporaries then this would lead to development of the organisation and also healthy competition leads to active participation of people into the work what they are doing. For example suppose there are 2 artists giving audition for a role in a play. So if one them gets the role then the otherone without any jealousy congratulate that particular person and try to improve his own skills without comparing it with someone then this is called as healthy competition.

But its person starts comparing himself with someone who has achieved more than him in the field both are working then it would lead to jealousy,depression,anxiety.For example if there are 2 people doing same business but one of them has more revenue than the other and the person with less revenue starts to compare without the person having more revenue then this would lead to jealousy quarrel and many other negative things. So I would not encourage such type of competition.

Now talking about instiling sense of cooperation into youngsters then is a one of the most vital component of leadership. A firm or an organisation can't function well if there is no cooperation between the different people working in it. For example to run a milk dairy business we need cooperation from the milk producer to the retailer in business terms we call it as Supply Chain Managament. If there 2 people on who have the skills to make people works together and other one is talented in that particular sector but not cooperative then in such cases the first person would be good leader than the second ene because he knows how to manage the people and how to run an organisation properly.

So atlast I just want to say that both healthy competition and cooperation will help us to form a good leader and unhealthy competition would lead to jealousy,anxiety and depression.