Company X has just switched to a 4-day workweek, mandating that employees work 10 hours per day from Monday to Thursday instead of 8 hours per day from Monday to Friday. Although the policy is new, Company X claims that the policy will help to increase profits by shutting down offices on Fridays and to boost employee morale by reducing commuting time to and from work each week.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted

New policy of company X to switch to 4 day workweek instead of 5 day workweek and mandating the employees to work for 10 hours per day to increase profits and boosting employee morale by reducing commuting time to and from work each week seems plausible at is first look, but in actual lacks with proper reasoning and facts which makes this a faulty argument. Author needs to answer few questions so as to make the argument a cogent argument.

Firstly, the author states that shutting down offices on Fridays will increase the profits of the company but he has not provided the reasons for it. As we see in 5 day workweek employees will be working for 8 hours per day which means 40 hours per week and in 4 days workweek also they will be working for 40 hours per day as the company has made it mandatory to work for 10 hours per day. So the work time or operating time of the company will be the same and due to which the electricity and resources utilized for the same will remain unchanged. So even though at first it seemed plausible but author need to provide exact reasons of doing so. Also the efficacy the employee will have while working 8 hours per day will not be the same while working for 10 hours. Due to long work time the employee will lose its enthusiasm for work and become languish. So it might happen that instead of the making profit the company might face loses due to this new policy.

Secondly, he also states that this will boost employee morale by reducing commuting time to and from work each week. But commuting time is only one aspect which is considered by the author. There are many other things that need to consider by the author. Author should also think of the mental and physical keenness of the employee because long working hours will lead to decrease in the enthusiasm of the employee regarding his work and might also lead to mental depression due to long work hours. So as per me author should also consider various other aspects before making claims.

Also I would like to ask the author on what basis is he or she making the claims. Because he has not mentioned about any survey done by him that will show that the new policy has increased the morale of the employees and the profits of the company have increased after implementation of these new policies. For author should do a proper survey to check whether the new policy is really boosting the morale of the employee and instead of saying that there will be increase in the profits he or she should check the balance sheet so that he will come to know that the company is really making the profits due to change in the policy or not.

So at last I would conclude by saying that author's statement is faulty, and he needs to verify facts before recommending any steps. Author's recommendation can decrease in the profits and decrease in the mental keenness of the employees. So author should check his statements and facts before proceeding.