The primary goal of education is to get a job.

First of all, what is education? Education can be anything from learning a language to learning how to cook. Many times we attend classes to learn a different sport which doesn’t mean that we want to pursue our career in that particular sport. We just do that for our hobbies. Even if the author is talking about academic education then also a person completing his education will not necessarily do a job he might do business or might pursue his passion as a career. So according to me primary aim of education is to develop skills in person in that particular field. After development of skills that person can do anything he wants and job is not the only option left for him.

Pursuing education in a particular field and doing job or career in that field are 2 different things. For example, famous cricketer and also ex captain of Indian Cricket Team Anil Kumble is an IIT Graduate. Billionaire Elon Musk, the founder of Tesla and SpaceX has done his graduation in Arts. Just imagine if Elon Musk would have pursued his career in Arts field and Anil Kumble would have decided to pursue career as an engineer then we would not have got such talents.

Also, instead of job someone might start his own business. For example, a Mechanical Engineer who has completed his Bachelors might start his own Automobile Parts manufacturing workshop or a Civil Engineer wants to start his own Construction Company after completing his education. So in such cases these student were not having job as their primary goal.

But in today's world of competition the primary goal of education is to get a job. As we see many students are not pursuing career in the fields in which they are interested but in the field where jobs are available. For example, many Mechanical Engineers who are not interested in things like coding etc but are learning coding for better job opportunities. But due to lack of interest in that particular field it leads to depression, anxiety etc.

Atlast, I just want to say that primary goal of education differs person to person. Someone might be learning something as an hobby, someone might be learning something to start his own business, or someone who is not at all interested in studies might studying just to get a degree. So going to the conclusion that primary goal of education is to get a job is not appropriate.