College students should be encouraged to pursue subjects that interest them rather than the courses that seem most likely to lead jobs

What is the most important thing to effectively learn and excel into life? Passion and zeal, right? As many great scholars have said it before, "People should follow their area of interest and they will succeed in that arena regardless of the circumstances they face." The prompt suggest that college students should learn subjects which they love and not to follow the path or opt for subjects just because they are most likely to lead to jobs. In my opinion, I strongly agree to this claim and believe that students should look inward and not outward when choosing college courses for two reasons.

To begin with, From the early age students are taught to follow the career which is most likely to be the next "boom" factor. While doing this students are not asked about their area of interest and they are forced to follow the rat race for the rest of their lives. For example, In 1980's there was this trend about people opting for Nuclear Science and Engineering because at that time it had great demands for those engineers. But, as the years passed, Nuclear Sciences and Engineering was diminishing and soon it was at nadir facing serious job issues. So it is clearly evident from this example, trends and demand for sectors are fickle. They change over period of time and just by considering the "hot" and so called "trending" factor of the market scenarios, one should not follow the courses which they think has great potential without considering their forte.

Furthermore, When students pursue subjects which interest them or say they enjoy their work, they are likely to succeed and work with ardent and passion. Interest and love for the area make people happy and they don't envy their tasks and work they do . However, when you think about the monetary benefits you are going to achieve when you follow the path which is influenced by the surrounding factors or say trending jobs, you are less likely to succeed. Because what is good for others or has great demand does not mean that everyone pursuing it is going to be great at it. It is always said that, when you work in the area of your interest, you try to think about creative ideas, innovation and get to the zenith of it. So it is best to follow your interest and try to excel into it, as you will probably be happy doing the work you love despite of circumstances and other factors affecting it.

Of course some argue that one should take courses which are demanding but isn't this a short term trend? What are the possibilities that the sector which is thriving now has long term future and its going to be at apogee forever. Is it sensible to not follow your interest considering some short term or transient trends and demand for jobs? No, It is not. So I believe one should follow their passion and interest. If we do so we are likely to compete at the highest level and carve out a niche for ourselves in this increasingly "globalised world".