College students should be encouraged to pursue subjects that interest them rather than the courses that seem most likely to lead jobs.

None of the choice is unnecessary one. Actually it is not exceptional for entering students to think deeply in the decision for months perhaps year and then a decision gets decided. The prompt recommends that students should not ruminate whether it will lead them in future job market but choose the path that interests them from the core of mind. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this assertion and argue that students should look their choice without looking outer world for two reasons.

The chief reason why I generally agree with the statement is that the job market is ever shifting and today’s high paying payable job is another decade’s cheap and less available job. So, to choose one’s profession based solely on the availability of the job by doing only prediction is very unconvincing as there still remains many confusions. For instance, till 2000 year, petroleum and mining engineering was as rapidly growing field as most of the nation felt demand of fuel. So, most of the graduates would get high salary and would be joined immediately after graduation. But due to the issue related to green energy and the severe impacts of fuel on greenhouse effect and it’s scarcity, Prediction are shifting, specially the developed nations,

toward renewable energy like solar based energy and currently it’s being used mostly in highly developed nations. As a result, current petroleum engineer’s demands are far away from the earlier 2000 era. The above example illustrates that the job market is highly contingent upon many unpredictable factors and that if one assumes it is as static, she is likely to get burned at some points as current technological advancement is very likely to be replaced by better one.

Moreover, if it’s considered that job market will be same as now like mass, The universal constant, one should still runs for her/his interest because easiness plays a pivotal rule in how we effectively work. Likely, in case a student is passionate to study in anthropology but chooses the path of computer science engineering due to the abundance of high paying job opportunities. He has to run the risk of finding himself in a field where he feels uneasiness and will spend time with no satisfaction. He might go to work regularly but having no interest will give bad service to the company under which he works for. So the above example also illustrates the point not to take a subject without passion.

In sum, of course some argues that in our globalized economical competition, highly paying jobs are much prioritized and so one should follow this path but this cannot ensure what might be happened in time. So, if we follow our interest, it’s likely to do the best job possible and very likely to compete at the highest level.