The following appeared as part of an article in a Dillton newspaper.

"In an effort to bring new jobs to Dillton and stimulate the city's flagging economy, Dillton's city council voted last year to lower the city's corporate tax rate by 15 percent; at the same time, the city began offering generous relocation grants to any company that would move to Dillton. Since these changes went into effect, two new factories have opened in Dillton. Although the two factories employ more than 1,000 people, the unemployment rate in Dillton remains unchanged. The only clear explanation for this is that the new factories are staffed with out-of-town workers rather than Dillton residents."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In the given part of an article in a Dillton newspaper talks about Dillton’s unemployment rate. As mentioned in the article to bring new jobs to Dillton the city council voted to reduce 15 percent in corporate tax rate and offering generous relocation grants to companies move to Dillton. After these efforts two new factories established and brought employment to more than 1000 people but the unemployment rate is still unchanged. In this situation the city council put explanation that the new factories are giving employment to other cities people than Dillton residents. The explanation seems unconvincing and questionable when we read the argument.

Firstly, the city has been fought with difficulties of unemployment which is not discussed with proper statistical data. It may be possible the factories provided sufficient employment according to their capacities but in proportion to unemployment rate this number of jobs were very small. On the other hand, another plausible condition is Now a day’s maximum work done with machines and factory has automated machinery so, there is possibility they showed number of employed people more than 1000 people on papers but actually it is less. In both cases the unemployment rate in Dillton city remains unchanged.

Secondly, to establish the factories is not sufficient to decrease unemployment rate because the salary should meet works basic requirements. Giving jobs is not reduce the unemployment rate the city should work on per capital income of the city, which means worker get enough money to complete basic needs. The factory provide jobs to Dillton residents and after days there were fired from factory and it might be a reason behind unvarying rate of unemployment.

Thirdly, the city gave allure proposals to cooperates for opening manufacturing their city but only two factories come to Dillton. This is also important point of discussion. It brings doubt about availability of basic resources for any factory such as water, transportation, land, electricity and many more. There is easily available employment for any industry, in spite of it only two factories established raised questions on basic resources. If there is lack of resources, then the city council should take strong step to fulfill them Despite of reducing corporate rate and offering relocation grants.

Finally, on the basis of above points it is clear that the council assumed flawed explanation. There are different reasons behind high unemployment rate which could be solved if council clearly analyses the problem. Without concrete reason one cannot reached to concrete solution.