Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

In the given argument author analyse the interview-centered approach and observation-centered approach used by two different anthropologists. The author's recommendations could be correct if their premises were to be true. However, in his argument the author has made assumptions for which there is no supporting evidence and used terms which lack definition.

First of all, both the anthropologist studied at different time and the time gap is also too much. Dr. Field concluded the children of Tertia village reared by an entire village rather than biological parents. After 20 years Dr. Karp studied and concluded same island children’s spent much more time talking about their biological parents than others. There is 20 years of gap between both studies which indicate the change in cultural and family values. As we see today’s children are far different from 20 year earlier children. So it is not necessary the differences found in the study based on the different approach only.

However, the interview method is more appropriate because the interview approach target the subject’s perception threw questions wheras the observation method only concludes the researcher’s point of view. In Dr. Field observation there is a strong possibility that the children’s had seen more with others rather than with parents because of cultural unity as we can see in India. In India few years back the children go anyone house in neighbors and spent a lot of time but today parents are not allow their child to go others house. Similarly it has been shown in the argument.

Additionally, there are each difference between approaches used for study. As well as there are limitations of every method in research so the observation method is not applicable that we cannot say. It may be possible that Dr. Field’s results were correct at that time and due to changes in dimensions the results of Dr. Karp become valid.

Conclusively, the recommendation is not based on the strong facts and the author need to analyse the argument to conclude with strong reasons.