The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

An individual gain greatness due to his hard work and talent. There should be a touch stone to define the greatness of any individual so, greatness should be decided with respect to its contemporaries. There are so many examples which prove that people become great when they compare with their fellows. The people who are live after great one not matched with the touchstone, so they don't have much contribution in other achievements.

First and foremost, example related to my position in given issue statement is from Indian history. There are so many leaders who fought for freedom struggle from Britisher's rule and all of them worked hard, but there was a great leader who is still remembered at international level named Mahatma Gandhi. He is memorized because of his uniqueness among his compeers. Other than Mahatma Gandhi all worked for society where as he worked differently on the basis of his principles. The greatness of Mahatma Gandhi had recognized only because of his fellow leaders.

Second example is from classroom where teacher teach every child equally and pay attention to all. yet, one or two become extraordinary among all students. Again, the comparison held with contemporaries. If we saw the people who left behind than we can see only the qualities of individual but, when we compare with contemporaries then we find that individual is actually great. As I had read in religious books that the comparison should be held among equal things than only the results will pure and reliable.

Thirdly, there are so many women writers who wrote for feminism and criticized by society, but they have foretelling ability that's why they wrote before feminism come in picture. The famous women writer Mary Wollstonecraft famous example. she wrote 'Vindication for women' Which is criticized by fellow people but later on it become reality and helps to women for fought for feminism. When the peers or contemporaries starts denouncing then it became clear there is something special or unique. There is one more example of famous scientist named Galileo who spoke against dogmatic thinking of Christians and due to which he gets blasphemy by pop. After some centuries, when scientists expressed consensus with Galileo's idea, Galileo's greatness was confirmed by the world. so, this example also supports to the position that the contemporaries helps to find greatness in an individual.

Finally, on the basis of aforementioned examples we can say that the greatness of an individual is decided by his contemporaries or we can say fellow. They either helps to find uniqueness of individual or their criticism helps to saw greatness of an individual.