The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island azette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author discussed the solution of the problem of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians in Balmer Island. The author did not present adequate statistics related to the accidents. The people visited to Balmer Island in summers due to beauty of the town and to enjoy their summers and they enjoy the moped rides in town. By limiting the number of rentals mopeds, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accident, moreover the statistics don't fully support to the conclusion.

The accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, in the town may be happened due to poor traffic system or due to narrow stress. The author didn't explain the causes of the accidents and concluded that the reduction in number of mopeds is the solution. It may be plausible that the accidents may be caused due to pedestrians don't follow the traffic rules and enter in red light and the speed of moped couldn't controlled by the rider.

Moreover, if the number of mopeds limited from 50 per day to 25 per day than the moped rentals may overload the moped to gain double profit because in the letter it is mentioned that the population increased to 100,000 during summers and it is the season to earn good wealth for rest of the year for rentals. By limiting the number of mopeds the number of accidents may be reduces up to assumed percent but due to overloading the mopeds the number of injured people could not be reduced.

Additionally, the author took example of Seaville town as evidence for conclusion but the other factors of the towns did not explained. It is not discussed the rise in population in summers is how much? The traffic system of the town is also not explained and the number of people injured in the accidents also not compared. On the basis of these arguments the author failed to conclude that the limiting the number of mopeds can reduces the accidents up to 50 percent. For example in lahe ladhakh people visited to enjoy the ride on bike and so many unfortunate take place for this government take safety majors in place of reduction in bikes because tourism is one of the major source of revenue.

Conclusively, the author didn't present strong points in favor of limiting number of mopeds in Balmer Island. On the basis of aforementioned arguments town council should analyse the problem in spite of reducing rented mopeds.