The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The topic was about the town council of Balmer island, limit the moped renting from 50 percent to 25 percent to reduce the accidents between pedestrians and mopeds. The following argument is based on unwarranted reasons and flawed for the following reasons.

First of all, the author told that the population increases to the 100,00 during the summer month and the number of accidents involving pedestrian and mopeds. but the author does not provide any actual number of how many accidents happened in the past few months. it would have been possible that pedestrians are responsible for the accidents and they are on the way of mopeds. The city council could have solved this problem without curtailing the renting, by providing a different lane for mopeds and a different pedestrian lane.

The author provided another claimed that by limit the moped renting there will be a reduction on accidents and all these theories based on neighboring island Seaville offer similar limits on mopeds rentals. but it would have been possible that the Seaville island provided an alternative mode of transportations or maybe mopeds are not important transportation for Seaville island. Since there is no actual evidence that the action would have a similar effect on Balmer island the limiting the rentals on mopeds would be a burden on peoples.

The author also told that he would limit the moped renting per day from 50 percent to 25 percent. The author does not tell any other transportation would be introduced for the peoples, as the mopeds are a popular mode of transportations. it would be insensitive to think that people walked all the way. Besides, the mopeds are important and many people earn money through the rental business and cut the renting percentages would have a burden to the rental company and they would face a loss.

The following argument based on unwarranted reasons and failed to provide any pragmatic data the convince that by reducing the rentals of mopeds the accidents would be reduced. The city council first introduce alternative transportation and other systems to mitigate the inconveniences of the people that would have caused by reducing the number of mopeds.