The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

A letter to the editor has said that mopeds are a popular form of transportation for people on Balmer Island. Also, the author said that the population of the island increases during the summer time and observed accidents involving pedestrians and mopeds. In order to reduce the problem with accidents, he or she proposed to limit daily moped rentals like another town called Seaville did. Though this may be a good recomendation, there are several questions that should be answered to evaluate it.

Firstly, is Seaville comparable to Balmer Island? This question is important to answer because if not, then there are crucial differences that would not make this proposal a good one. For instance, the streets could be wider in Seaville which means that there is more space for motorists and less traffic for them. In addition, it is important to ask how different motorists are from pedestrians since their risky behaviors could indicate how likely they are to be involved in an accident. To illustrate, if jaywalking is more common in Balmer Island than in Seaville, then it makes sense that pedestrians are likely to get hit by a vehicle, which is commonly a moped. If so, then the proposal to limit rentals is not a good one since the two places are not comparable.

In addition, though it makes sense that an increase in population could indicate an increase in accidents, there are questions that need to be answered about the people who ride mopeds. The author mentioned that a population increase occurs during the summertime. Do people who come to Balmer Island actually ride and rent mopeds? If so, it could mean that those who come bring their own mopeds and get involved in an accident involving a moped without actually renting one. This means that limiting the amount that is rented will not hasten the issue of accidents involving pedestrians. Furthermore, it is critical to ask if most accidents involving pedestrians actually involve rented mopeds. If accidents do not involve rented mopeds, then there is no way that limiting moped rental will actually retard the number of accidents.

Lastly, the author says that by halving the amount rented, then so will the number of accidents involving pedestrians and mopeds. It is crucial to ask here if all rented mopeds are involved in an accident. It is highly unlikely that this assumption will hold since it is so unlikely. Nevertheless, if it actually turns out to be true then this would be a good recommendation. Again, it is also important to ask if this town is comparable to Seaville. Does Seaville also have 50% fewer accidents because they enacted this proposal? If not, then the recommendation is not a good one since the two towns are not comparable.

In conclusion, the author makes several assumptions that need a lot of questions answered in order to decide wether or not this is a good proposal, especially for the extreme assumptions such as halving the amount of rentals will halve the amount of accidents.