The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The letter from a friend advises selling a home with Adams Realty over Fitch Realty and gives a few reasons to support his position such as more realters and higher revenue. However, there several flaws with his superficial reasoning and more evidence must be obtained to corroborate his claims if they are to have any merit.

First, just because Adams’ last year revenue is lower, doesn’t mean that the friend’s home will sell at a good price. For one, it could mean that Adams Realty sells few valuable homes going into the millions while Fitch Realty could sell many more homes that is around the friends’ lower home value. If this were true than the friend sending the letter is mistakened in his reasoning that high revenue means that Adams’ Realty sells most of the homes that were delegated to them. Also, if it were true that Fitch Realty sells many homes that are not as expensive as those of Adams Realty, it would be a better option for the friend to sell his or her home through Fitch Realty.

In addition, the time differences are very questionable. For one, the letter sender said that one of his homes was sold quickly ten years ago. A lot can happen to a business in ten years that could have caused either of the two realters to be the fastest sellers at a given time. Furthermore, the sender did not compare both of the realtors in the past ten years at a given time. This means that no fair comparison between the two realtors have actually been made. In fact, the four month long period selling the home should not have any merit since it was done such a long time ago. Additionally, the sender notes the differences in the number of agents. Does he take into account their relative performances today, last year, and ten years ago?

If that wasn’t enough, the sender is only one instance comparing the relative speeds of the two realtors. What if the sender’s first home sold was in terrible condition when he tried to sell it through Fitch and the other home sold more recently was in perfect condition during a time when a housing market was booming? If this were so, there was yet again an unfair comparison made between the two realtors since there was likely a small market for homes in poor condition and likewise a larger marker for homes in a better condition. Also, the other competing effect of how good the housing market was at both times the homes were sold is also evidence that must be considered before comparing either realtors and making a conclusion. A good housing market means that a home will more likely be sold than a bad market.

In conclusion, the sender could be giving his friend bad advice with outdated information and unrealiable anecdotes. The sender may be providing an unfair comparison between the two realtors since there is so much ambiguity in the shortsighted evidence he or she has put forth in the letter.