Fossil evidence indicates that the blompus—an extremely large, carnivorous land mammal—inhabited the continent of Pentagoria for tens of thousands of years until its sudden decline and ultimate extinction about twelve thousand years ago. Scientists have determined that the extinction coincided with a period of significant climate change and with the arrival of the first humans. Some scholars theorize that the climate change so altered the distribution of plants and animals in the environment that the food chain upon which the blompus depended was irretrievably disrupted. Others contend that predation by humans is the more plausible explanation for the rapid population decline.

Scholars debate whether or not human settlement and/or climate change is responsible for the disappearance of the blompus in the continent of Pentagoria. Theories about predation and disruption of the animals’ food sources are both logical and plausible explanations that could explain the decline and extinction, however neither theory can be accepted without additional evidence. There are many different assumptions that both of these theories rely on before they can be accepted.

Firstly, if the blompus really had its food supply disrupted by the climate, it is important to figure out the diet of these animals. The scholar stated that both plants and animals were disrupted. Are the blompus herbivores or carnivores? If they are herbivores, are the plants that they really rely on for food really affected by the climate changing? It is important to specify which palnts constitute their diets before any conclusions can be dran. Also, if they are carnivores, it is possible that those animals which they feed off of rely on plants which were disrupted by climate change or those animals themselves probably migrated due to that changing whather conditions.

The same contentions apply if the blompus were omnivores. Again, since the specific diet has not been elucidated, it is very difficult to determine the starting point for the focus of which food source has been disrupted and how it leads to extinction.

Next, scholars have also mentioned that predation by human settlement is also another possible contention for the extinction of the blompus. However, this postulate is also vulnerable to criticisms. First, do humans have a reason to hunt this animal? Do they use the animal’s hide for making clothes or do they use this animal for food? Just because humans decide to share the same region as the blompus, it does not mean that they are responsible for their extinction or maybe even their decline. Also, even if humans have the desire to hunt animals and even if there is evidence that humans have been hunting other types of animals, there has to be evidence of their abilities to hunt the blompus. Is the blompus able to evade humans and easily avoid predation? If so, humans cannot have caused their extinction.

Lastly, it is possible that both factors, not just one of the two factors alone, have caused the extinction. Since there was a gradual decline before the time of extinction, there may have been a lot of time for both the climate and predation to take effect. Since the scholars have not specified whether or not the climate quickly killed off the blompus food source before any significant predation can occur, it is possible that humans may have developed better technologies to hunt and kill the blompus. Since there are two competing factors at play here, there is a vast quantity of evidence that is required to rule out the possibility that two factors contribute to the extinction and decline.

The scholars have both logical ideas about how the extinction of the blompus took place, however there is still a lot of evidence that must be looked for in order to confirm one, both, or none of the proposed explanations.