The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

A memo was written by the director of student housing at Buckingham College suggesting that a new dormitory should be built to accommodate an anticipated increase in student enrollment over the next 50 years. Furthermore, the author of this proposal argues that since rent off-campus rises, students will be more likely to live on campus and that the new dormitory will attract new students. Although this suggestion may sound somewhat reasonable, a lot of information and evidence needs to be taken into account before this large project goes underway.

Firstly, the fact that there is a trend doesn’t mean that it will hold over several years. The director states that more students will enroll at Buckingham College because current trends say that more students are enrolling. It can be the case that the opposite holds true since a lot changes in 50 years. For instance, currently popular majors at Buckingham College such as pharmacy may become obsolete due to increased automation and decreased field demand. If a career becomes less popular, then enrollment at universities will also decrease since it is less likely that students will find a job and pay off student debt after graduation.

In addition, the author makes a reasonable assumption that due to increased rents on off-campus housing, a dormitory will be a reasonable project to persue. However, location matters. If the dormitory was to be built too far away from the campus for students to reach their classes, then students may opt for off-campus housing instead. If the dorm was to be bilt too far away from the campus, then the proposal is weak since students will have to pay for a bus or automobile which could be more expensive than buying an apartment two blocks away. To build on the previous paragraph, it seems that rent fluctuates from time to time. If the rent increases mentioned by the director is only temporary, then what happens when rent goes down again for the next several years? There may be no definite way to tell. Given the magnitude of this proposal, it is far less likely that it will be considered due to the ambiguity of rent prices and the potentially sheer amount of competion that the new dormitory will face in the next 50 years.

Lastly, the author of this proposal assumes that new and attractive dorms will help attract new students. Well first of all, “new” is a fleeting phrase. It is true that if something is new it will be more likely to be bought/rented, but after a few years it will lose it appeal since it is no longer “new”. This would be less attractive, and therefore less students will rent out the dorms. In addition, if a dormitory becomes so attractive to prospective students, then embellishing the dormitory may make it more expensive to the point that it will become so expensive that it will not be able to compete with the rates of off-campus housing mentioned in the previous paragraph. Both “new” and “attractive” adjectives have questionable assumptions and possibly overlooked evidence that must be considered.

All in all, the proposal makes many assumptions with minimal supporting evidence to back up its claims. Though it may be a good idea, there should be several questions answered before such an endeavor takes effect and costs the university.