The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The letter to the editor of a scientific journal is attempting to compare humans to rhesus monkeys based on a study of birth order and level of stimulation. The study uses cortisol as their measure of the relative levels of stimulation and looks at first-time mother monkeys versus mothers with several offspring. However, a lot of evidence is required to corroborate the letter’s statements and assumptions.

Firstly, the letter assumes a fairly large degree of similarity between humans and monkeys. This is a big assumption that the letter relies on that if proven false, its argument is seriously weakened. Indeed, it might be because it unlikely that cortisol has the same effect in both monkeys and humans. Though monkeys may be ancient ancestors of humans, they can be different enough to have different hormonal effects though they have the same chemical structure. This means that birth order cannot be extrapolated from monkeys to humans. Perhaps a study comparing birth order in humans only would better prove the letter’s statements.

In addition, cortisol may be released in other instances that have nothing to do with birth order at all. The study and therefore the letter can be flawed since there is no indication of a control for other factors that may trigger the release of cortisol. For example, the way the scientists may have sampled the cortisol may have caused stress in the animals which subsequently caused an increase in stimulation and cortisol levels. If this is the case, then no fair conclusion about birth order and stimulation levels can be made. Also, it is important to find out if the study compare male and female monkeys. There could be important differences in birth order of males versus females and if all siblings are males or if all siblings are females. Since there is so much left unaccounted for in this study, the letter’s argument is severly flawed.

Lastly, monkey mothers and human mothers may not be so comparable afterall. The conditions of monkey in a laboratory is not similar to mothers in a hospital and in their own homes. The monkey mothers with a lot of cortisol could be afraid that the resaerchers watching them may harm their babies the first time around, and learn not to be afraid of them the second and subsequent times and therefore release less cortisol. If that is the case, then birth order and levels of stimulation cannot be concluded since it was stress that caused the increase in cortisol. Furthermore, since a laboratory is a more controlled setting than a human’s home, it is not fair to compare pregnant humans and pregnant monkeys. Mothers could be more stimulated due to things at home such as chores or work the next day and some may not have to worry about those things at all.

In conclusion, the letter discusses a compelling comparison, unfortunately it is possibly based on a faulty study with poor controls and big unwarrented assumptions.