In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Whatever people set out to do, someone long before them has likely done it as well. History has recorded several instances where major discoveries and records set have been somewhat credited to those that came before them. The prompt has said that it is impossible to make a major contribution without being influenced by our elders’ achievements. I mostly agree with this extreme statement, for two reasons and disagree with it for one reason.

Firstly, looking at past achievements can boost motivation to make people more likely to contribute more. For example, a police officer who respects his father and his record number of criminals caught could be more motivated to do his job better by working harder and taking on more responsibilities such as night patrol. Thus, the young officer will be contributing more to his endeavor since he was inspired by the past achievements of his father by taking on more responsibilities. Which in turn will cause him to contribute more to the police force by making it more likely that he will keep the city safer with his extra duties.

In addition, looking at past achievements can make significant contributions by creating new ways of thinking. For instance, the development of the scientific method which is a method that is hundreds of years old has allowed scientists to create almost everything we take for granted everyday such as automobiles and vaccinations to name a few. If scientists today do not look back at the scientific method, it will be more impractical for them to make many contributions to their particular endeavor since there is no strategy that will help them make many contributions.

On the other hand, significant contributions can be made without looking at past achievements. To illustrate, a young teacher can be determined due to her own altruism to help kids learn. Since his teacher is naturally caring and passionate about education, she does not need to look at historical instances of achievement in order to thrive and make significant contributions in her career. As for the prompt, one instance of significant contribution without looking at past achievements discounts the “impossible” clause which it contains.

In conclusion, looking at past achievements can help people make significant contributions, however since there is at least one other way a significant contribution can be made without looking at past instances of success, it is not the only way to make significant contributions.