The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The author of this prediction is worried that overdevelopment of land can cause a decrease in farmland and not developing will cause an increase in housing costs. It has been predicted that another county’s proposal has caused only moderate increases in housing and an increase in antother. While that author may be correct in his assumption, there is so many unstated assumptions and a lot of evidence needed to corroborate his or her claim.

Firstly, it is important to ask if Maple County comparable to Chestnut or Pine County. This is important to know since the city council’s argument de...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.