The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school:

Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that students do not find enjoyable – my son and several of his friends came home yesterday complaining about the lunch options. While the intent of hiring Swift may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods, the plan is just going to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. If Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

A parent sent a letter to the principal of Kensington Academy concerning the adoption of Swift Nutrition. Secifically, that the food is not enjoyable to students based off of the complaints of her son and his friends. Also, she says that students will bring their own food and that will cause them to be unhealthy and the swictch to Swift would backfire in the goal to make students healthier. There are several questions that need to be answered in evaluating this response.

First, is the opinion of her son and his friends the same as all of the other students? Is the son friends with all the students in the school? It is possible that the son and friends make up a small minority of the school population who dislike the new food served. In this case, the parent has made a generalization error which would weaken her argument in that other students will bring their own lunches in place of the new school lunches. The opinion of a few out of thousands does not show the whole picture. This is the case in the US elections where you would find small rual towns in a state support a republican candidate, while big cities with the voting population in the millions end up electing a democrat becasue that is who they support. This means that voters in the countryside would be fallacious in their thinking that a republican would be elected just becasue they know several of their friends are republicans as well. Thus, the parent's generalization error about luch opinions from home and from the school.

In addition, the parent assumes that even if students do not enjoy the luch options offered at the school, they will bring unhealthy lunches from home. It is then important to ask if students have that tendancy. It is true that some students may bring unhealthy foods in place of the healthy foods. However, it is also possible that those parents would pack the studnets' luchboxes with healthy rye bread with water as a drink and a salubrious orange for dessert to overrule the students' idea of a pizza for lunch. The author of the letter also assumes that if something does not taste good, the children will not eat it. Also, it is important to ask the children's level of maturity and their ability to withhold hedonism and gratification of a cupcake for healthy fruits and vegetables. Though her son and company doesn't like the food, will they continue to not eat it? Is it really unbearable? The author is not clear in making this point. The same goes for other students who may not enjoy the lucnch, and thus the parent's point is further weaker since though the food is not liked, it can still be eaten.

Lastly, even if the school decided to switch vendors, it is important to ask if there are many other healthy options available. It is possible that the lucnches at other vendors are not as healthy and full of many different preservatives and prosessed foods. On the other hand, the private school may not be able to afford a rise in tuition or lunch fees just to get the similar healthy foods that only taste a bit better. There is a lot that goes into making school foods such as packaging and delivery and better taste just further complicates the process and cost to the consumers just skyrocket. If either is true, then the author may be incorrect in thinking students will be less healthy becasue the principal can just make studnets bring in healthy food rather than to just switch vendors.

In conclusion, there are many different factors that the parent did not account for which forces him or her to make assumptions that must be accounted for by answering several questions. After these questions are answered, only then can the action proposed have merit.