Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Education is the utmost important thing for the overall development of a child. University is a place where students not only learn about various subjects but also are exposed to a completely independent life where they develop as an individual. It should be every child’s right to be able to access a university education for it shapes a person mentally and intellectually. University admissions are very competitive requiring tremendous amount of hard-work and dedication. Only a tenacious, determined and competent individual makes the cut for the top universities. Unfortunately, not all students come from the same economic background and if a student gets admitted but cannot enter the university due to financial conditions of his/her parents; it is a sad affair. In such cases, governments should have a policy of providing free education to students who were competent enough to get into the university but have to back out due to extremely high tuition costs.

Past years have seen a rise in the university tuition costs. These days a four-year course can even cost millions of dollars. Many parents start saving for colleges when their kids are barely 2 or 3. In developing countries like India, Sri Lanka, Pakistan etc. there are still people who live below the poverty line. If the government ensures free tuition for the children of such parents, it would provide tremendous amount of support and encouragement to such families. Lots of children of poor parents do not study and start working as child laborers to help their parents monetarily, alleviating the burden of the costs of their university education might put an end to this. It will also motivate children to study and do well to be able to get admitted into better universities.

Implementing this kind of policy will benefit the government and economy of the country as well. Universities will attract children who are smart and competent. Once these children pass out, they might get jobs in technology companies, they might become entrepreneurs, they might even work for non-profit organizations, become lawyers, doctors; options are endless once you have a good education. They will be able to support their families monetarily and pay taxes properly. Thus, education is the best tool for overall growth and evolution of a nation.

However, facilities in a university like labs, student centers, medical centers, maintenance of classrooms, libraries etc. come at a price and if more students apply for the free tuition aid, then the overall condition of the university might deteriorate. In such a case, stricter measures should be taken to perform an overall background check for the incoming applicants to make certain only the really deserving children receive the aid. Additionally, maybe universities can also limit the number of students that they offer this free tuition to, making sure that the university does not suffer.

In conclusion, only a well-deserved student can clear the entrance examinations necessary to be admitted to good universities and if such a student cannot pursue a degree due to monetary reasons, it is a loss for both the student and the university. Hence, there needs to be a policy to ensure that students from different socio-economic backgrounds get equal opportunities as those who come from richer families.