In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of this proposal has noticed that recent efforts to curb highway accidents by decreasing the speed limit has not helped to decrease accidents. The author then proposes to undertake similar actions taken by another county called Butler County and assumes that it will also decrease. However, there is a lot of evidence that needs to be taken into consideration before any action takes place.

Firstly, though the speed limit has been lowered and still there is no apparent decrease in accidents, this action should not be considered failed just yet because, it has only been one year since the change has been implemented. What this means is that there may be more highway patrol officers coming to help moniter the highways to enforce this rule. In addition, there could also be proposals that the county government may be currently considering that would also lead to a decrease in accidents, namely steep fines for speeding, and mandatory community service. Thus, though the proposal may not seem like a good one now, it may be so in the near future when the laws get more strict. As a law’s punishements increase, people’s complicance will increase. Since just posting signs up will not be enough to convince people to drive slower, the author may be wrong in her conclusion that current efforts are not working.

In addition, the relative percentage statistic in Butler county may be problematic. Although there is an overall decrease, the percentage comparison of Butler County’s accidents may represent an even higher amount of accidents as compared to Prunty County’s. This means that Butler county can have 800 accidents a year, while Prunty may be only concerned with 300 accidents per year. With this possible information in mind, the road improvements that have been done in Butler County may not do anything to reduce the amount of accidents in Prunty county since there could be many fewer motorists in Prunty County. With fewer cars on the road, there is less need for widening lanes and making other changes to the roads since there are fewer cars to collide with.

Lastly, it is vital to see if the two counties are comparable. If not than the proposed measures in Butler County cannot be done to decrease accidents. It is possible that the roads cannot be widened, are already smooth, and may not have any intersections with low visibility at all. Furthermore, it is possible that drivers in Butler county are in general less risky in terms of aggressive driving and may have more experienced drivers who are less likely to be involved in an accident. If the above statements are true, then the proposed changes in Butler county cannot be applied to Prunty county because the roads cannot be physically altered and that things not involving the highway itself (daring driving and driving experience) are the problem.

In conculsion, there is a lot of evidence that needs to be taken into account since the author makes many assumptions. More evidence is needed before any big changes are made needlessly.